The Ionian islands

The Ionian Islands are a group of islands in Greece. They are traditionally called the Heptanese, i.e. "the Seven Islands" , but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones.

The seven are, from north to south:

  • Kerkyra usually known as Corfu in English and Corfù in Italian
  • Paxi also known as Paxos in English
  • Lefkada also known as Lefkas in English
  • Ithaki usually known as Ithaca in English
  • Kefalonia often known as Kefalonia, Cephalonia and Kefallinia in English
  • Zakynthos sometimes known as Zante in English and Italian
  • Kythira sometimes known as Cerigo in English and Italian

The six northern islands are off the west coast of Greece, in the Ionian Sea. The seventh island, Kythira, is off the southern tip of the Peloponnese, the southern part of the Greek mainland. Kythira is not part of the region of the Ionian Islands, as it is included in the region of Attica.

Suggested Itineraries

Suggested 7 Day Yacht Charters:
1. Lefkas – Kefalonia (Fiskardo) – Ithaki (Vathi), (Kioni) – Kalamos – Meganisi - Lefkas
2. Corfu – Paxoi – Lefkas – Kefalonia – Ithaki – Preveza – Sivota - Corfu

Suggested 14 Day Yacht Charters:
1. Corfu – Sivota – Paxi – Lefkas – Kefalonia (Argostoli) – Ithaki –Kefalonia (Fiskardo) – Meganisi – Preveza – Parga – Corfu
2. Lefkas – Kefalonia (Fiskardo) – Ithaki (Vathi), (Kioni) – Kalamos – Meganisi – Lefkas